MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE REGION F WATER PLANNING GROUP 10:30 A.M., THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 20, 2020 AT THE OFFICE OF THE COLORADO RIVER MUNICIPAL WATER DISTRICT 400 E. 24TH ST. BIG SPRING, TEXAS

The Region F Water Planning Group (WPG) met at 10:30a.m. on Thursday, February 20, 2020 at the Office of the Colorado River Municipal Water District in Big Spring, Texas. Voting members present were: Allison Strube, Merle Taylor, Michelle Guelker, Aaron Pachlhofer, Kenneth Dierschke, Don Daniel, Gil VanDeVenter, Tommy Ervin, John Grant, Richard Gist, Raymond Straub, Ty Edwards and Rhetta Yanez. Non-voting members present were: Elizabeth McCoy, TWDB; Lauren Mayes, TX Dept. of Agriculture; Winton Millif, Coke County; Dale Adams, Nolan County; Jon Cartwright, Schleicher County; and A. Ryland Howard, Tom Green County. Other interested parties present were: Simone Kiel and Jordan Skipwith, Freese & Nichols; Ben Deishler, Ward County; Scott Holland, ICWCD; Leon Braden, Lipan-Kickapoo WCD; Scott McWilliams, UCRA; Rusty Ray, TSSWCB; John Allen, BCWID#1; Kevin Krueger, Jennifer Posey, and Cole Walker from Colorado River Municipal Water District.

Call to Order

Chair, John Grant, called the meeting to order at 10:33 a.m. A quorum was present.

Introductions and Opening Remarks

Voting and Non-Voting members and audience attendees introduced themselves. John Grant then introduced Kathleen Jackson, Director for the Texas Water Development Board.

Consider Approval of Minutes of the Region F Meeting held on November 21, 2019.

Motion was made by Gil VanDeVenter and seconded by Ty Edwards to approve the minutes, motion passed unanimously.

Financial Report

John Grant presented the financial reports for the Planning and Administrative Funds. CRMWD is the Designated Political Subdivision for Region F and contracts with the Water Development Board, manage funds and keep meeting minutes. The Administrative Fund had a balance of \$28,529.03 as of November 30, 2019 with interest earned of \$136.54 bringing the balance to \$28,665.57. The Planning Fund had a balance of \$114,829.80 September 1, 2019 with interest earned of \$470.50 and expenditures of \$37,181.24 bringing the balance to \$78,119.06 as of November 30, 2019. A motion was made by Richard Gist, seconded by Rhetta Yanez to accept the Financial Reports, motion passed unanimously.

Consider Voting Member Nomination

John addressed voting members and the positions that have expired. A Public Notice went out in November 20, 2019 regarding those positions, several membership nomination forms were received to fill those positions.

John presented each nomination as follows:

<u>Groundwater Management Area (GMA) #7 – Rhetta Yanez</u> – Motion was made by Raymond Straub, seconded by Ty Edwards. Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Small Business – Tommy Ervin</u> – Motion was made by Kenneth Dierschke, seconded by Gil VanDeVenter. Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Municipalities – Population >50,000 – Allison Strube</u> – Motion was made by Kenneth Dierschke, seconded by Raymond Straub. Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Water District (Irrigation District) – Ben Deishler</u> – Motion was made by Ty Edwards, seconded by Allison Strube. Motion passed unanimously.

<u>River Authorities – Scott McWilliams</u> – Motion was made by Kenneth Dierschke, seconded by Tommy Ervin. Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Agriculture (Dryland Farming) – Kenneth Dierschke</u> - Motion was made by Ty Edwards, seconded by Allison Strube. Motion passed unanimously.

Consider Designated Alternates

Two nominations for Designated Alternates:

<u>Water District (Regional Water Supplier) – Cole Walker for John W. Grant</u> - Motion was made by John W. Grant, seconded by Richard Gist. Motion passed unanimously. <u>Industries – Aaron Pachlhofer for Jimmy Carlile</u> – Motion was made by Gil VanDeVenter, seconded by Kenneth Dierschke. Motion passed unanimously.

Consider Election of Region F Planning Group Officers

Kenneth Dierschke made a motion, seconded by Ty Edwards to appoint John Grant as Chair, Scott McWilliams Vice-Chairman, Raymond Straub as Secretary, Gilbert Van Deventer as At Large Member and Richard Gist as At Large Member. Motion passed unanimously.

TWDB Report

Elizabeth McCoy, TWDB Project Manager provided information and several topics of interest along with the TWDB website to access the information.

Regional Water Plan Schedule Update

Lissa Gregg provided information on the Regional Water Planning Schedule Update Process, comment period and timing for the IPP.

Planning Process

Lissa Gregg said the Planning Process consist of an Overview of the Region F Initially Prepared Plan (IPP) Draft and Discussion of final deliverables for the IPP.

Consideration and adoption of the revised list of Major Water Providers

Motion was made by Ty Edwards, seconded by Raymond Straub for Consideration and adoption of the revised list of Major Water Providers. The motion passed unanimously.

Consideration and adoption of the 2021 Region F Initially Prepared Plann (IPP)

Motion was made by Merle Taylor, seconded by Tommy Ervin to consider adoption of the 2021 Region F IPP, allowing the consultant to make minor revisions if needed prior to submittal to the TWDB by March 3, 2020. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made by Allison Strube, seconded by Rhetta Yanez to consider the public hearing date of April 16, 2020 at 10:30 a.m. and authorize CRMWD to post 30-day notice of public hearing. Motion passed unanimously.

Next Meeting Date

The next meeting date will be Thursday, September 17, 2020.

Planning Group Comments

There were no Planning Group Comments.

<u>Adjourn</u>

There was no further discussion and the meeting adjourned at 11:48 A.M.	
Raymond Straub, Jr., Secretary	John Grant, Chair